Republican Convention Monday Schedule Released

TAMPA, Florida - Asserting that "Republicans reject the notion that America's 'new normal' consists of 42 months of deep unemployment and greater debt," Republican National Committee Chairman Reince Priebus today announced that the theme of the Republican National Committee's first night will be "We Can Do Better."

"Americans know we can do better than joblessness, poverty and debt," said Priebus.  "This convention will present our vision for a brighter, better future and it will lay out an optimistic, achievable plan to make it happen."

"Probably no four words could better sum up the conclusion that is shared by millions of Americans as they look back on the past four years," said Convention CEO William Harris.  "We can do better than this, and the country knows it."

Schedule Announced on Convention Mobile App

As part of its "convention without walls" program to make the convention open and accessible, Republican officials also released today the convention schedule for Monday, August 27 through the convention's mobile app - Tampa 2012 (http://connect.  Featured speakers for Monday include Ann Romney.

2:00 pm   Chairman of the RNC Reince Priebus               Color Guard               Pledge of Allegiance               National Anthem:  The Oak Ridge Boys               Invocation               Opening procedural steps, appointment of convention committees               Welcoming remarks, and House and Senate candidates and RNC auxiliaries               RNC Chairman Priebus               RNC Co-Chairman Sharon Day               Tampa Mayor Bob Buckhorn               Convention Chief Executive Officer William Harris               Chairman of Tampa Bay Host Committee Al Austin               Republican Congressional Candidates               State Delegate Barbara Comstock (VA)               Representative Tim Griffin (AR)               Republican Senate Candidates               Republican National Committee auxiliaries               Consideration of convention committee reports               RNC Chairman Reince Priebus               Committee on Credentials Chairman Mike Duncan               Committee on Permanent Organization Chairwoman Zoraida Fonalledas               Convention Permanent Chairman Speaker John Boehner, Presiding               Official Convention Photograph               Committee on Rules Chairman John Sununu               Committee on Resolutions Chairman Governor Bob McDonnell               Committee on Resolutions Co-Chairman Senator John Hoeven               Committee on Resolutions Co-Chairman Rep. Marsha Blackburn               Roll Call for Nomination of President of the United States               Roll Call for Nomination of Vice President of the United States

7:15 p.m. Recess

7:45 p.m.  Reconvene                Remarks by Speaker John Boehner                Remarks by Governor Rick Scott (FL)                Remarks by RNC Chairman Reince Priebus                Video                Remarks by Senator Rand Paul (KY)                Various Speakers                Remarks by Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA)                To Be Announced                Remarks by Artur Davis and video                Remarks by Senate Republican Candidate Ted Cruz (TX)                Musical Act                Remarks by Governor Nikki Haley (SC)                Remarks by Mike Huckabee                Remarks by Mrs. Luce' Vela Fortuno                Remarks by Mrs. Ann Romney                Benediction by Sammy Rodriguez and adjournment.

Popular Posts

Privacy Policy Contact Us Content redistribution use policy Copyright 2011-2017 All rights Reserved.